DID I BUY THE RIGHT HEMINGRAY CARNIVAL??

Here you may post any questions you have regarding insulators.

Moderators: threadless, Chris Minicola, Bill Meier

DID I BUY THE RIGHT HEMINGRAY CARNIVAL??

Postby rhodesbennett » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:22 pm

Hi: This is my first posting and I am new to insulator collecting. I purchased my first insulator on Ebay two days ago, a hemingray cd168 carnival. After the purchase I found out that apparently I need to be careful with possible fakes that have been altered. The auction for this piece had over 29 bids from 12 different interested parties and the person selling it has a 100% approval rating. I am hoping I didn't make a mistake and buy a fake. I am waiting for it to be delivered. I have attached the item listing below. Please take a look at let me know what you think. Is it a real carnival or an artificial carnival? Thanks, Dan

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dl ... OC:US:3160
rhodesbennett

Re: DID I BUY THE RIGHT HEMINGRAY CARNIVAL??

Postby TedW » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:48 pm

The Hemingray CD 168's are well known to come in carnival, although I know some of these and the 137's have been messed with. It's the mickey mouse CD 257's in carnival that are almost certainly fake. Some of the rarer Hemingray carnivals (154/162/164) have been attempted too I believe, but are easy to spot if you know what to look for. Factory applied coatings usually are thin at the top and thicker/more lustrous at the bottom. Usually the coating should show some minor groove wear to indicate it was in service. If you see any chips/flakes with the coating sprayed over top, its a pretty good indicator of a fake.

As for the auction, the carnival D-510's book for 50-75 so 100+ is pretty steep. There's several others on eBay right now including a vnm example at a buy it now price of 69.00.
Last edited by TedW on Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TedW

Postby TedW » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:52 pm